South European Championship - Final

Sunday, 13 May 2018 23:53
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Trieste, May 13, 2018. Final results (only 1 race completed)

(Photo courtesy of STV Media Team)

1. LTU Gintare Scheidt & Kathleen Tocke

2. USA Augie Diaz & Silvia Penso

3. BEL Manu Hens & Maj Kristin Hansen Borgen

4. ITA Pietro Fantoni & Marinella Gorgatto

5. ITA Dario Bruni & Emanuele Zampieri

By Daniela Semec

It was a complicated weekend on Gulf of Trieste for the South European Championship – Sergio Michel Perpetual Trophy.

Only one race was completed on Saturday in light wind conditions.



Despite the many attempts made, the Race Committee, chaired by Marcello Montis from Tuscany and supported by the local regatta officers, was unable to control the tantrums of the Sunday wind, leaving the standings unchanged.

First place went to Lithuanian Gintare Scheidt (silver medalist, 2008 Olympic Games) with crew from the United States Kathleen Tocke; second place to Augie Diaz from Miami, Florida, United States with Silvia Penso from Trieste, Italy; and in third place were the Belgian Manu Hens with the Norwegian Maj Kristin Hansen Borgen.

Unfortunately, the Deed of Gift of the South Eurpepean Championship states that for awarding the trophy at least three races shall be completed and therefore, for this year, could not be awarded.

The Italians Pietro Fantoni and Marinella Gorgatto, in fourth place, won the Ferin Trophy.

A warm thanks to the STV in Trieste for the excellent organization and hospitality reserved for the Snipe sailors.

Interview with Gintare Scheidt after Day 1

Read 1983 times
Daniela Semec

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Leave a comment

Comments will be published on the site, only after approval by the moderator.